More Excuses

So last night after my work debacle, I got home and had a somewhat decent night. We walked the dog, it was a chilly walk but a walk nonetheless and good to get some clean air in our lungs.

After we were home a bit, the topic was raised about how she wishes we could work out or have time to do it. “How can others do it!?”. Of course I’ve heard this all before from her and I am done trying to answer it or trying to ‘solve it’. After all women don’t want anything solved right? Especially if it’s easily solved…

So she goes into how there isn’t enough hours in the day, how she just doesn’t have the energy but that eating well isn’t really doing much and she’s not feeling so good about herself. I reiterate that I too would like to be in better shape too but stop at that.  I’ve been down this road way too many times with her and am not ready for a 5th round.

I know that from my own experiences, you have to not be lazy, you have to get up when you don’t want to, change into gym clothes when you don’t feel like it and get working out, whether it’s at home or at a gym facility but the point is you need to figure a way to MAKE the time and MAKE the effort to do so and from living with one another I’ve seen where the time goes, what is done and more importantly what isn’t done.  Sure it’s tougher to keep a tidy house if you want to work out but then again it’s not if you pick up after yourself once in a blue moon.  Exercise can be your best friend if you let it. It can help you unwind from work, it can help you space out from the thoughts of work and life.  It is therapeutic and the health benefits are enormous but the one hurdle one has to get passed is that you have to make the decision to do it.  To NOT drink, to eat better, to get up or take some evening time to commit to your health and feeling better, to figure out ways to clean the house or you know, take part in it at all, to not blame your partner for your obvious bad habits and to just wake up.

I’ve tried with her in going to gyms. We tried one. It was busy so she made us quit. The next one was fantastic and a quiet nice new facility but 15 mins drive each way and THAT was too much time out of her day / week to do that. We have equipment at home but she ‘can’t do it after working with THOSE assholes all day’ and then gets angry at me for not being as angry as her about work and suggesting perhaps I should get a different job where I can be that angry so I can understand what she feels like…yes folks I’m not kidding that HAS been suggested to me. Luckily I took that suggestion and put it where all bad suggestions go.

There are closer gyms, but then they are more money, and she once said she’d not pay more than$10 a month to go to a gym. Well you aren’t going to get to go to ANY gyms then…once we went to that nice facilty and it was 40 a month which is still cheap for one’s health and interests, then it was too far and too much time to take up. She wants to eat, sleep, be mad at work, be exhausted at home and go to bed early so there’s not time for any exercise you know. Weekends? Well they’re the same! Though lately it’s ‘we better have plans to go to do something or I’m going to get blitzed out of boredom!’ but nothing said about going to a gym or working out at home.

My conclusion is that if you wanted to get in better shape physically, you’d do it. But you don’t. I did it for years myself and kept my place clean or relatively clean.

You won’t do it if you don’t want to. No one else is stopping you.

Now time for Timmies!

Leave a Reply

