Oh What a Meeting….(sung to oh what a feeling…)

Wowsers.

I’m not even sure if I’ll capture all that yesterday was with regards to the big meeting we had for the crazy project.

It was SP who called the meeting with the big wig to go through things and to see if ‘we’ were even going to be able to meet the targeted deadline.

Now I’ve had trouble with drawing anything up as nothing was designed. Literally nothing to show. He’d fire me a picture from the internet or a simple doodle, just not enough (nearly enough) to go on besides me just guessing and with the 3 week deadline outlined to us at the onset of the project, impossible to do. No time for guessing.

It started by me being asked by the big wig what I had been missing, what elements were still not designed or handed off to me for drawing up technically. I had my list ready to go.

A side note. The OTHER big wig had spoken to me earlier and earlier yesterday even about how the project was going and he was in my court with the lack of design handed to me. I guess this big wig asked the other big wig to talk to me about it earlier. Good to know.

Back to our story….

So SP skirts the issue and says that I have all I need to draw things up. The big wig then asks for his design drawings that he handed off. He can’t produce any. He never had any. He says there were some sketches earlier on but that they had ‘gone missing’ and ‘someone else’ had lost them. Big wig said fine. Draw it right now right here. You should be able to if you had already drawn it up prior. He couldn’t. He would finally say that it hasn’t been designed yet.

This happened with each and every single part of the project to the point that there were eff bombs dropped albeit calmly but sternly. JJ tried to cover for SP and then the big wig started asking HER questions. Where was the design before? How long did it take to produce the document that was an overall sense of what the project was without design being finalized though. She answered 7 weeks. He remarked that it was way too much and they KNEW of this tight timeline ahead of time and can’t expect this guy (me) to be able to draw things when nothing has been resolved. JJ then was on the defensive as well as SP.

The question of consultant meetings came up. What did mechanical show for this…what about electrical…SP said nothing as no one’s working on it. Big wig then lit into him again asking why not. Why hasn’t he got another person at the other consultants to work on it? He’s the PM right? So why not. What have you been doing to this point with all this time?

I tell you, I never looked down at my paper so much as I did this time. I walked the big wig thorough details I did know, and things I could detail obtaining direction from HIM (thankfully) that I can go on for some of the items.

The big wig then concluded that this has to be split up and the whole office has to come together to complete it by the deadline. I am to assess what I can actually finish by that date (next Friday) and let him know so he can pull and assign things to the rest of the office. He brought in one of the main bosses to do one item, JJ to do another, SP to do a third and me to do the fourth. I asked more questions of the big wig in direction so now I can plow away on it too thankfully.

The big wig and I had a little talk in between the meeting as it broke for a small break and thankfully he was on the side of ‘you didn’t have a chance here’ with the deadline and no design completed. I let him know the other big wig talked to me about some things and that’s when he told me it was him that asked him to.

Finally I left the meeting feeling wiped, freaked out, stressed but also something different…it wasn’t I that got the shit this time. What I was hoping to get from SP and JJ WAS justified and a typical thing. The big wig said if it were him in my position and he got this amount of design from SP he’d throw it back asking if this was a F**king joke????!!

It’s been interesting I tell you.

This morning my buddy told me that after I left and he was there a bit longer, he talked to SP who had looked like he had been upset and that’s where he muttered how ME (this blog writer) is an asshole. I literally said no more than a few paragraphs in that meeting…and it was him that called the meeting stating I better have drawings together for it to show the big wig.

Holy shite lol….

Now I’m eating a sub and blogging this. *waves to good buddy*

Next I will wander next door (to the place where I’m thieving the internet from here) and buy a beverage and eventually make my way back to the office to continue the crazy push.

Tonight friends are coming into town for the anime convention so that’ll be SUPER nice and NEEDED to relax tonight after all of this.

Apologies to my best bud for not being around much today.

Leave a Reply

